Breaking down to the Nuts and Bolts of it all.

This is my first “blog”, still not sure what that actually is but here I am. I have a tendency to ramble on and vent from time to time and a friend recommended that I should “blog”. I understood the sarcasm but then thought about it for a while after and I thought about how some people seemed to connect with the words that had been trapped in my mind. So up and running is my first “blog”.

Blog

I am a mechanic, or at least I try to be; Basically I fix things. Being “mechanically inclined” I tend to be analytical, sometimes too analytical. As mechanics, we tend to find ourselves in very complicated situations that need to be resolved. Many of us try to over think the issues and by doing so we are merely making things more complicated than it needs to be. I have learned that the best way to try to understand why a complex thing like today’s cars is not working correctly you have to try to break it down to the “nuts and bolts” and start from the basic principles and work your way up from there.

For example; a car doesn’t start and the mechanic knows it isn’t firing, or the spark plugs are not doing what they are supposed to be doing. This highly trained technician knows that he computer, the “brain” is supposed to tell the spark plugs when to fire and when not to work. After hours of checking the computer and all the systems connected with it this technician still cannot justify why the car won’t start. A ‘old timer’ walks over to the car with a simple test light and test a fuse in the fuse box. He replaced this fuse and the car started right up. Failure to allow yourself to understand the correct path of solving the problem can lead to more problems. You have to think about the nuts and bolts and know that they are what hold things together and what builds all of these complex things we have in life.

I don’t know where this “blogging” thing will lead nor do I know who will it benefit or how. I cannot guarantee I will have the best information nor am I always going to be right. I will certainly not be mechanically correct in a grammar sense, but sometimes it’s not about all of that. Sometimes its just about trying to muffle the arguing deep inside your head. Finding peace within the complications of life sometimes requires you to simplify life’s problems down to the nuts and bolts of it all and try to understand where they fit.

Leave a Reply

